I received a summons for a family member who is deceased. What do I do with it?
Do not throw it away. Indicate on the forms DECEASED, attach a copy of the death certificate and mail the entire packet back to the Jury Management Division. CURRY COUNTY is 700 N. Main, (Suite #16 for mail) Clovis, NM 88101 and ROOSEVELT is 109 West First, (Suite # 202 for mail) Portales, NM 88130.
The master list of potential jurors is crossed referenced with Vital Statistics; however, on occasion a summons is mailed to an individual who is deceased.
Where can I park when I report for jury duty?
Parking is open to all jurors at both courthouses Curry or Roosevelt, on the parking lots, or in nearby public parking areas.
Curry County Courthouse- South entrance, off of 7th street. There is an elevator at ground level.
Roosevelt County Courthouse- East entrance to parking lot, off First street. There is an elevator at ground level.
I received a jury summons for a family member who no longer resides in New Mexico. What do I do with it?
Do not throw it away. Indicate on the forms the new address of the individual summonsed. Return the entire packet back to the Jury Management Division. The individual will be contacted to provide proof of the new address.
How long will I have to serve as a juror?
The 9th Judicial District Court operates on a 120-day term of service for Petit jury service, and 90-day term of service for Grand Jury service. You will be given specific dates during the term that you have been scheduled for. Due to the possibility that a jury selection may be cancelled, changed or added to you are required to call the information line or check the web site every Friday after 4 p.m.
How late will I be at the courthouse?
The court’s normal hours of operation are 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Prospective jurors should make arrangements to remain the entire day and there is a possibility that you may be required to stay past 5 p.m.
Are there ever any instances when I may have to serve longer?
There is a possibility that you will be selected for a jury trial that goes over your end of term date.
Can my employer prevent me from serving as a juror?
New Mexico State law prohibits an employer from discharging or in any manner discriminating against an employee for taking time off to serve as a juror if the employee, prior to taking time off, gives reasonable notice to the employer of the requirement to serve as a juror.
Why do I have to pay the postage to return the juror questionnaire?
The Jury Management Division spends over $100,000.00 annually in postage to mail summons and juror checks. Postage for returned questionnaires would nearly double the cost.
Do I have to tell my employer the EXACT time I was released from jury duty?
Employers can, will and have called the Jury Management Division verifying their employee’s jury duty. The Jury Management Division will disclose if you reported, what time you reported, what time you were released. The Jury Management Division or the presiding judge’s bailiff will provide you with an attendance letter each time you report to ensure that there are no discrepancies.
I do not have transportation and/or a driver's license. How do you expect me to report for jury duty?
A lack of transportation or not having a valid driver’s license does NOT excuse you from jury service. The summons are mailed to you with substantial time before you are required to report to allow you to make arrangements for transportation.
Does my employer have to pay me for serving as a juror?
No. State law does not require employers to compensate their employees while they are on jury service. Many employers support the jury system and provide jury service benefits and will continue employee wages while they serve as a juror. Please check with your employer regarding your company’s policy.
Will I be compensated for jury duty?
The Court is authorized by New Mexico State statute to pay you $6.75 per hour. In addition, round trip mileage from your home to the courthouse will be paid at $0.46 a mile. Payment is computed based upon the information you provide on the juror qualification form and your mailing zip code. Checks will be mailed to your home address. Your payment cannot be split between hourly and mileage reimbursement. You will need to verify with your employer regarding their internal jury service and payment policy. Employers are not required by law to reimburse employees for jury service. On average, reimbursement payments take 6 weeks to process. If payment is not received within 10 weeks of Jury Service, please contact the Jury Division at 575-742-7524 in CURRY COUNTY, and 575-359-6926 in ROOSEVELT COUNTY.
I live closer to a different court than the one where I have been summonsed. Why can't my service be transferred there?
State law requires that jurors be selected randomly from the countywide population. You must appear at the court to which you were summonsed.
What about getting a postponement?
The Court realizes prospective jurors may have been summoned at an inconvenient time and is willing to defer service to a more convenient time in most instances. Jurors may request a first-time postponement for District by completing the appropriate section of the summons and returning it back by mail. All requests for postponement must be in writing and either mailed or faxed to the Jury Management Division for review. New Mexico Law does not allow a second postponement unless it is an extreme emergency that was not anticipated when the first postponement was granted.
I am a convicted felon. Why do I have to serve on jury?
Convicted felons can serve on jury as long as all of the requirements set forth by the conviction have been completed.
I have been called to serve multiple times in the past and no one I know has ever been called. Why don't you call someone else?
A computer program randomly selects names from the master jury file to summons potential jurors. Since that process is random, some people may be selected more than others. If you served on an actual jury trial or grand jury within the last 36 months, you can request to be excused.
I know that I will not be selected to be on a jury because of what I do for a living. Why not excuse me now and save time?
The Ninth Judicial District Court tries civil and criminal cases, both of which require juries. The random selection process prevents you from knowing in advance what trial or even what type of trial for which you’ll be selected. The Jury Management Division cannot excuse you as a potential juror because of what you do for a living.
Some people actually want to serve on jury duty if you would call them. Why don't you?
The Jury Management Division adheres to the random selection process set out in the law. Because it is random, some people who are willing to serve may never be asked, and others who are not willing to be served may be asked frequently. No one can take the place of the individual who was summonsed for jury duty.
I am unable to judge anyone because of my moral or religious beliefs. May I be excused?
The New Mexico law does not provide for an excuse from jury service for moral or religious beliefs. You are still required to appear for jury service. During the jury selection process, you can mention your moral and religious beliefs to the presiding judge.
May I be EXCUSED from jury service over the phone?
No. All excuse requests must be in writing and either mailed (or faxed) to the Jury Management Division for review.
I received a jury summons but I am not a citizen?
The law automatically disqualifies non-citizens, and people under 18 years of age from jury service. If you are not a United States Citizen you will need to provide a copy of your residency card along with the completed Jury Qualification form to the Jury Management Division.
How do I request to be excused from jury service?
Prospective jurors otherwise eligible to serve may be excused from jury service only for extreme hardship and severe medical issues. All requests must be submitted to the Jury Management Division in writing prior to the prospective juror’s service date as explained on the juror questionnaire. The excuse can also be faxed to the Jury Management Division. Fax prospective juror may be excused if he/she:
- Has a physical or mental disability that would prevent him/her from serving. The prospective juror is required to provide a doctor’s note explaining the disability.
- Must provide actual and necessary care for another and alternate arrangements are not feasible and a doctor’s letter is still required.
- Will suffer an extreme financial burden if required to serve that would substantially prevent the prospective juror from paying his/her necessary daily living expenses.
- Will be temporarily away from the court’s jurisdiction for the entire term of service.
- Active duty military and not stationed in the county.
- Individuals who are seventy-five years of age or older and who file an affidavit requesting an exemption from jury service shall be permanently exempted from jury service.
Is jury service mandatory?
The United States Constitution and the New Mexico State Constitution guarantee the right to trial by jury. Failure to attend as directed may subject you to penalties provided by law. All residents are obligated by state law to serve as a juror unless they:
- Are NOT a United States citizen;
- Are UNDER 18 years of age;
- Have been found incompetent by a court of law.
Jury Duty Scam
You answer the ringing phone. The caller identifies himself/herself as an officer of the court. The caller states you failed to report for jury duty and that a warrant is out for your arrest.
You say you never received a notice. The caller says no problem, it can be cleared up right now, but more information will be needed for “verification purposes” — your birth date, social security number, maybe even a credit card number. Or the caller might say that if you give him/her that info to pay a “small fine,” the warrant will be dropped.
This is when you should hang up the phone. It’s a scam.
As a rule, jury officers never ask for confidential information over the phone; they generally correspond with prospective jurors via mail. There are certain situations such as, a Junior and Senior live at the same address and the summons does not specify which one that more information may be required. In that situation the Jury Management Division would ask for the last four digits of the potential jurors social security number to verify the correct person reports for jury duty.
Protecting yourself against identity theft is the key: Never give out personal information when you receive an unsolicited phone call.
How was my name drawn for jury service?
Combining the County’s voter registration list, Motor Vehicle and Personal Income Taxes, creates the list of names that is used to call people for jury service. Names are randomly selected from that master list by a computer program.
How do I contact the Jury Management Division?
The Jury Management Division is open Monday through Friday (excluding holidays) from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. By calling 575-742-7524 in CURRY COUNTY, and 575-359-6926 in ROOSEVELT COUNTY, Jurors can get information on court locations and hours, juror qualifications, how to request an excuse, and how to ask for a postponement of their date of service. The Jury Management Division fax number is 575-742-0881 for CURRY COUNTY, and 575-359-2140 for ROOSEVELT COUNTY. The physical address for CURRY COUNTY is 700 N. Main, (Suite #16 for mail) Clovis, NM 88101, and for ROOSEVELT COUNTY is 109 West First, (Suite # 202 for mail) Portales, NM 88130.